The Day After Tomorrow…

KEXP played Tom Waits’ “The Day After Tomorrow” this morning, as a requested by a man who just attended the memorial service for his friend who died serving in Iraq. The song is heartbreaking, most especially when you hear Tom sing it. Just a reminder, in the midst of days full of emails and pumping gas and picking up kids and making dinners and frantically meeting deadlines… there is an insanity not so far away that we, as citizens, have a hand in. Young men and women on the brink of life and death, that line crossed and skirted in a blur of “good” and “evil” striving to stay alive and killing for reasons it seems we no longer comprehend

This song is universal and virtually apolitical. Tom Waits, so good at finding the human…

Realgone_4

The Day After Tomorrow

I got your letter today
And I miss you all so much, here
I can’t wait to see you all
And I’m counting the days, dear
I still believe that there’s gold
At the end of the world
And I’ll come home
To Illinois
On the day after tomorrow

It is so hard
And it’s cold here
And I’m tired of taking orders
And I miss old Rockford town
Up by the Wisconsin border
But I miss you won’t believe
Shoveling snow and raking leaves
And my plane will touch tomorrow
On the day after tomorrow

I close my eyes
Every night
And I dream that I can hold you
They fill us full of lies
Everyone buys
About what it means to be a soldier
I still don’t know how I’m supposed to feel
About all the blood that’s been spilled
Look out on the street
Get me back home
On the day after tomorrow

You can’t deny
The other side
Don’t want to die
Any more than we do
What I’m trying to say,
Is don’t they pray
To the same God that we do?
Tell me, how does God choose?
Whose prayers does he refuse?
Who turns the wheel?
And who throws the dice
On the day after tomorrow?

Mmmmmmm…
I’m not fighting
For justice
I am not fighting
For freedom
I am fighting
For my life
And another day
In the world here
I just do what I’ve been told
You’re just the gravel on the road
And the one’s that are lucky
One’s come home
On the day after tomorrow
–2004, Tom Waits Real Gone, Anti Records

StampFurther Reading:

This is an anti-war (ALL war) blog. While I’m not necessarily against all war in all circumstances, I am and always have been against this war. This blog does a great job of exposing the idiocy that “against the war” means “against the troops”. Everything from strategy to doctrine to basic supplies have been so botched that the ones who can most be shown as “against the troops” are the ones putting them there under such conditions in the first place.

“I feel used and I feel mislead.” If you haven’t seen it, check out Oliver Stone’s video with Army Infantry Sgt. John Bruhns.

“Most of the time you have bad intelligence…” Also other see “Soldier’s Speak Out”. Sections 1-5.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

