Art and Everything Else…

Harm
I Suppose I’m still forming the structure for this blog. The title of the blog is from one of my favorite Wallace Stevens’ poems “Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Blackbird”. Genius. It was originally published in 1917 in his book Harmonium.

Collected_2

Today I own it in his Collected Poems. Tiny EXCERPT…

I do not know which to prefer,
The beauty of inflections
Or the beauty of innuendoes,
The blackbird whistling
Or just after.

I love thinking about art and its reflections on reality. Which is more potent to us, the event itself or what it leaves in us, what lingers? The telling of an event, an emotion, a hope, a fear? The expression of it, the sharing… what is it that most moves us?

The true answer to this questions is unimportant. The interweave of the experience of life and our expression of it is…

I suppose I want this blog to reflect my little piece of existence. The life experience and reactions to reality of my little piece of the world at this little space of time. Art of course – music, literature, theatre, dance, film… But also what inspires art, what allows it to exist – Human relationships, politics, freedoms and repressions, cruelty and kindnesses. The conundrum of human behavior. All of it.

This is why I had such trouble with thesis papers in college. I wanted to talk about everything! I welcome insight, critique, and debate. Bring it on.

Welcome!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

